Select Page

By:  Amanda Vann, Esq.
Phone: 301-563-6685

In Maryland, there are three types of alimony that a court may award:

  • Pendente lite alimony
  • Rehabilitative alimony (also known as term alimony)
  • Indefinite alimony

Pendente lite alimony is an alimony award that maintains the status quo of the parties so that the wife or husband doesn’t suffer any financial hardship while they are awaiting for their divorce proceedings to be finalized. A Maryland court can award this type of alimony between the time you file for divorce (this is when you formally make a request for alimony), and the time the divorce is final.

Determining Pendente Lite Alimony Awards

There are four elements (or factors) that must be proven before a pendente lite alimony award will be granted in Maryland. They include:

(1)    Proof of the marriage

(2)    Proof that a divorce proceeding is pending (meaning you have already filed for divorce)

(3)    Proof that the spouse requesting the alimony needs it

(4)    Proof that the other spouse has the ability to pay

Pendente lite alimony can become term or indefinite alimony once a divorce has been granted.

Need Help Determining Alimony Payments in Maryland? Contact Us for a Consultation.

Because getting a divorce doesn’t happen overnight, it is important that you seek legal advice from experienced alimony attorneys on how to obtain or defend against any type of alimony award, including pendent lite alimony, as soon as you can. Please contact attorney Amanda Vann directly or fill out an online contact form if you need help determining alimony payments in the Montgomery County or nearby Baltimore areas.

Our family law attorneys can also offer you assistance with: